A rag for Barack Obama

A rag for Obama? Why not? James Scott wrote the New Era Rag in 1919 in anticipation of the roaring twenties. Scott Joplin dedicated rags to specific people. Tom Turpin wrote the St. Louis rag for the World’s fair in 1904. This is my contribution to the exciting stage America and the world is entering. I have renamed my Vitality Rag to the Obama Vitality Rag in honour of this time.

More info:

Obama Vitality Rag

Ragtime is truly an American music that originated before the Great Depression. In the face of the current political and economic situation there have been many references to this period of time and to the first 100 days after President Franklin Roosevelt’s inauguration and the “New Deal” he pledged and delivered to the American people. President Barack Obama has overcome enormous obstacles to get where he is today and yet he faces even bigger challenges.

I hope you enjoy the tune!

9 Responses

  1. Dear Ross: You know, of course, that Scott Joplin wrote The Strenuous Life in 1902 in honor of Teddy Roosevelt. This is covered in my new book, Scott Joplin and the Age of Ragtime (McFarland Publishing) which you can check out on my blog http://www.ageofragtime.wordpress.com. Feel free to run an excerpt if you wish.

    As a Torontonian who frequently visits Kingston, I will catch you at the Holiday Inn on May 31 if you’re playing that day. I’ll bring you a review copy.

    • I’ll check it out Ray. I’m definitely playing the Holiday Inn Sunday Brunch on May 31 from 11:30am-2:30pm in Kingston so please drop by and introduce yourself. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Отличная статья.Респект автору.

  3. Огромное человеческое спасибочки !

  4. I liked the rag a lot. I also wrote a rag related to President Obama (the “Inauguration Rag”) and the midi and score of this rag, along with over fifty other rags I’ve written, are available at my deviantART website.

    • Hey Rudy, I just checked out your site. Great stuff! I followed the link to the Inauguration rag on YouTube. I loved it! Keep it up!
      Ross

      • Thanks, I hope to get back to writing once I return home and after I upload the changes I have worked out mainly for the more recent rags but for some of the older ones also. I have found that midi is misleading, what sounds good on a midi playback can sound bad when played on a real keyboard, and vice versa.

  5. Wonderful collection of early ragtime here played by master Marco Fumo: http://www.onclassical.com/artists/fumo/ragtime/

    • I listened to the samples and Marco Fumo does a great job and has chosen a nice selection. Thanks for that link Patty.

Leave a Reply

